top of page
Sameeksha & Vandya

Soul & Form


"I'm dying" she says.

"We're all dying", I reply.

"I hope the next breath i take is the last one", I add.

"I can see my one true love. I pull in a breath and hope; let it be the last one. I hope;let Them get closer to me." she murmurs

"Then why does it feel so far away?" I ask.

"Our bodies betray us, wanting one more moment in this wretched world. Its a battle between soul and form."

She sighs, then.

"My lover clings to my soul insistently, but my body clings to this mortal world." A pause. "And I think: why won't i let go? And my body replies: what if They hurt you?"

I listen to her go on, watching as she embraces herself tight. "Stay with me, they're here and I can't let go. They're getting closer and I can feel their breath on my cheek. 'Come', They say, 'I'll take better care of you than this cruel world'".

She stares of into the distance and They say to her, "You've yearned for me all your life, will you lose me now?"

She sighs again as her body counters "So will you let them hurt you? After all these years living with me?"

"Their first touch burnt my cheek, but it also left me with a longing for more. My body hurls anger and pain at me, a desperate attempt to control me and tether me to this material world. And then, Death wraps Their cold hand around my wrist, the touch burning me into wanting more till the craving consumes the whole of me."

I frown. "Let go then; let go of the mortal insignificant form."

"I do let go", she said, her earnest eyes finally meeting mine. "The liberation is worth the wait. The freedom, is worth the wait."

"So you let go?"

"So I let go." she smiled at Them; as she took Their beconing hand and disintegrated into nothing.


~ Sameeksha & Vandya;

35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page